I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion? | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?

I do feel like I'm being a little dramatic about it. But people are making it sound like I may have an aneurism and die.


228Tiger
LSU Fan
Harrison County
Member since Feb 2012
12112 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
Do you even lift?


Spankum
LSU Fan
Miss-sippi
Member since Jan 2007
34776 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
quote:

I believe I got it from throwing up. Had too much to drink about two weeks ago and tacked a solid bit.


frick, man...sounds like some shite I would have done when I was younger...


belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
That has been answered in the OP.

Also it's not by the sternum but yet 3 inches down from it. There is a slight bulge but not in a circular shape. Feels like a vein on steroids.

Go from your sternum down 3 inches tracing your rib cage. Draw a small 3-4 inch line towards your belly button in the shape of a vein (not really a straight line) and its raised roughly 1/4 in off my abdominal muscles.


fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
28346 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
quote:

Go from your sternum down 3 inches tracing your rib cage. Draw a small 3-4 inch line towards your belly button in the shape of a vein (not really a straight line) and its raised roughly 1/4 in off my abdominal muscles.


Oh yeah, heard of that. Something about a loin something, only two ways to get it. Probably had a serious fall recently.

ETA: loin separation, loin tare, I forget.
This post was edited on 2/28 at 10:23 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
Yea

It was an all day drinking affair and the moonshine came out. I haven't been drinking and have been on a strict diet. Well that shite crushed me.
Woke up on my bathroom floor.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
jrodLSUke
LSU Fan
Tigerdroppings Premium
Member since Jan 2011
6907 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
It sounds just like you have an aneurism and will die.


belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
Unless this aneurism lasts for 2+ weeks I would say you're right.


TJG210
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2006
22959 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
That shite is nothing to play around with, at the least I would go to an urgent care and have it checked out...on the basis that it could be an aneurysm.


pleading the fifth
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Feb 2006
2176 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
Christ if it's an abdominal aneurysm it'd be the weirdest ever presentation of it. Abdominal aneurysms are usually felt as pulsating masses within the abdomen. They don't typically become a problem until they get to be bigger than 5 cm in diameter.

Anyway, alarming diagnoses aside, it sounds like you have an abdominal diastasis although it would be very uncommon in your demographic (assuming you are a young to middle aged male with no prior abdominal surgeries). Regardless, get it checked out by your primary doctor or see a surgeon. Probably nothing emergent unless it gets incarcerated or strangulated at quick point the pain should bring you to seek medical consult.

Here's a link on diastasis:
LINK

Good luck!


belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
Man you all have me reading on aneurysms and freaking the frick out.

I'm scared to death right now.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
So me being a 28yr old male.

Chances of this being an aortic aneurysm are slim? It's more likely to be something else? I'm feeling like I should go to the damn hospital.


Bullredbf
LSU Fan
thibodaux
Member since Feb 2013
493 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
Rectus diastasis... Weakeness in abdominal wall, but not a hernia. Not much to do about it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
DrTyger
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Oct 2009
22059 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
quote:

I'm feeling like I should go to the damn hospital.


You should.

We could give you a differential a mile long, but it won't do you any good until someone can actually see you in person.


philabuck
Ohio State Fan
NE Ohio
Member since Sep 2008
7183 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
If you puked your brains out its probably a muscle strain. Could take a few weeks to heal, but I'd get it checked out to be sure.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
This kind of popped up like 2 weeks ago.

Should I go to the hospital now or am I good to get some sleep and see one bright and early?


DrTyger
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Oct 2009
22059 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
I wouldn't go to the ER if you've already waited on it for 2 weeks. Trust me, that pisses the ER staff off to no ends and you won't get treated very well.

If you can stand it go in the morning and go to a clinic. It's cheaper and a shorter wait.


belowmebama
LSU Fan
River Ridge
Member since Jul 2008
6572 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
I mean there is no pain.

We did abs the other day at the gym and I'm a little tight but not in "pain" around my abs. They are just sore from workout. I will definitely hit the doctor in the morning but if you had to put a percentage on it being an aneursym or life threatening based on what I've said what would it be? 15%? 30% ?


DrTyger
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Oct 2009
22059 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
<0.1%

If it were deadly it would have killed you by now.


Bullredbf
LSU Fan
thibodaux
Member since Feb 2013
493 posts

re: I may have a hernia what is the OTs opinion?
0% aneurysm or life threatening, likely muscle strain, rectus diastasis, or lastly a hernia. See a doc and let them check it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 2 of 3

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram