First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Augustus
Charlotte Fan
North Carolina
Member since Sep 2006
8280 posts

First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing

Of course, it's only two so it's a pretty small sample size, but they have basically the same complaints.

quote:

DiCaprio is a total misfire as Gatsby, thick and expressionless and unable to evoke any real sense of longing, and Tobey Maguire plays Carraway more as feeble-minded than anything else. Carraway is so passive through so much of the movie, so unwilling to take a position on anything that's happening around him, that he just doesn't work as a narrator. Considering he's the one person who is constantly telling us exactly what he's thinking and feeling, we learn basically nothing about him, and at the end of the film, he's just as much of a blank as he was at the start.

quote:

I have spoken with three people now who have struggled to articulate their feelings about this film before landing on "I didn't hate it," and that seems damning to me. I don't hate it, either, but I can't really recommend anything about it. It is professionally made and entirely limp, a gorgeous piece of craft hung on a nothing of a script, a prime case of how you can throw all the best intentions in the world at a project and none of it matters if if just doesn't click, chemistry-wise. There was never a moment in the film where I was anything less than aware that these were actors playing dress-up on expensive and completely artificial sets, and certain performances (Jason Clarke being a prime offender) are so far over the line into melodrama that I couldn't take any of it seriously.

Hitfix review.

quote:

It doesn't help that the cast feels like they're in different movies — and none of them are movies you'd particularly want to see. The blank and reactive Maguire and Mulligan are cast as the blank and reactive Nick and Daisy, the result being such a vortex of nothing that they threaten to disappear from the screen entirely. Edgerton perspires and chews the scenery in his best Snidely Whiplash manner, while DiCaprio has a fluctuating accent that often sounds like it's being delivered through a mouthful of marshmallows. DiCaprio's utterances of Gatsby's pet endearment "old sport" become more and more cringe-worthy with each repetition.

quote:

Humanity is, in fact, in short supply here, with most of the supporting characters reduced
to grotesque mugging and posturing. Luhrmann treats the people of color here like exotic
furniture, shooting his African-Americans as though he were planning to turn them into Mammy cookie jars. It’s a queasy situation only compounded by the bizarre casting of legendary Indian actor Amitabh Bachchan as Gatsby's unsavory associate Meyer Wolfshiem.

The cardinal sin of this new "Gatsby" is that it’s dull, and say what you will about
Luhrmann’s previous movies, that’s not an adjective that usually comes up. Here, sadly,
you can hear the wheels of the plot grinding as loudly as Gatsby’s custom Duesenberg.

The Wrap review.


Billy Mays
Syracuse Fan
Member since Jan 2009
17880 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
Not too surprised - I've been skeptical about it since I saw the first trailer.

Baz Luhrmann never inspired a lot of confidence in this project for me. His style is visually appealing - that's about it.


OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
42534 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
Not surprised


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Baloo
LSU Fan
Formerly MDGeaux
Member since Sep 2003
45522 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
I haven't seen the film yet, obviously, but Nick IS feeble-minded in the book. His wide-eyed naivety allows him to swallow the entire Gatsby myth without question. He's the perfect narrator precisely because he is passive and such a blank slate. His eventually disillusionment is just a proxy for the reader.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
fouldeliverer
LSU Fan
Lannisport
Member since Nov 2008
10625 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
I agree with most of Sepinwalls reviews, so it is disappointing.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
trillhog
Elite Membership
Member since Jul 2011
18772 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
they are advertising the music in the film trailers now if that tells you anything.


Mo Jeaux
LSU Fan
NYC
Member since Aug 2008
16189 posts
Online

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Mo Jeaux
LSU Fan
NYC
Member since Aug 2008
16189 posts
Online

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
I am disappointed to hear that review about DiCaprio.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
42003 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
called it. i dont think im gonna go see it


thatguy1892
Alabama Fan
That place you wish you were.
Member since Aug 2011
4526 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
When you move a film like that from Oscar season to early summer, that should be a clue that, "hey, this is going to be an abomination."


lsuhunt555
Furman Fan
Teakwood Village Breh
Member since Nov 2008
24069 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
quote:

they are advertising the music in the film trailers now if that tells you anything.



Saw that yesterday, thought it was pretty telling.


Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
23671 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
Well, it's getting me to re read the book, so that's good


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Rittdog
LSU Fan
Yesterday, all my troubles seemed
Member since Oct 2009
9955 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
Its probably one of those movies I would hate to see in the theaters. Wouldnt watch when it comes on HBO. 10 years from now never miss when it comes on TNT at 10 o'clock at night on a Friday.

Typical Luhrmann


trillhog
Elite Membership
Member since Jul 2011
18772 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
BUT it does have Leo in it , and he doesn't really make bad movies, so i bet it's good.


lsuhunt555
Furman Fan
Teakwood Village Breh
Member since Nov 2008
24069 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
quote:

Its probably one of those movies I would hate to see in the theaters. Wouldnt watch when it comes on HBO


Spot on. I would probably rent it from RedBox too.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
lsuhunt555
Furman Fan
Teakwood Village Breh
Member since Nov 2008
24069 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
quote:

BUT it does have Leo in it , and he doesn't really make bad movies, so i bet it's good.



The last time I went to the movie theater to watch a movie based on a single Actor I was supremely dissapointed.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
BluegrassBelle
Kentucky Fan
Don't hate da slayer, hate da game
Member since Nov 2010
51611 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
I've just come to the conclusion that for as good as the book is, it's just not meant to be adapted to the big screen. At least not in a way that's going to really grasp it.

It's a bummer honestly. I'll probably just wait for it's run on HBO too.


13SaintTiger
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Aug 1904
Member since Sep 2011
4743 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
quote:

called it. i dont think im gonna go see it


You must not have a S/O. Mine is making me go see this with her.


Roaad
LSU Fan
Lunch Wagon
Member since Aug 2006
54170 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
Robert Redford is Gatsby

The End
This post was edited on 5/6 at 10:50 am


nikki6
New Orleans Saints Fan
Dallas
Member since Jul 2011
1791 posts

re: First 2 reviews of "The Great Gatsby" are disappointing
quote:

I've just come to the conclusion that for as good as the book is, it's just not meant to be adapted to the big screen


This. The reviews are critical of Nick for being exactly like Nick is in the book. I just don't think this novel translates well at all to the big screen, especially not in today's day and age.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 1 of 2

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram