Posted by
Message
Mulerider
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2013
1506 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Mechanically at the plate Dawson has as good a strike zone as anyone on our team. She rarely swings and misses and aside from Jaquish is our only player that walks more than K's. She has tremendous command of the strike zone and is rarely overmatched on any pitch. If we need a base runner and Jaquish and Landry are not available she would be my top choice. She is a true, pure lead off hitter.

When running, I think looks are a little deceiving. I also think you hit it on the head on the way defenses play. You don't see the infield shift and move around when Landry is up like you do when Dawson and Andrews and sometimes even Griggs hit.

It's all about the stop watch in reality. Dawson is a 2.5 to 2.6 runner from contact to first base. She will dip in to the 2.4's on occasion. Landry is also extremely fast but I have never seen her in the 2.5 or 2.6 range. She is a consistent 2.7 runner just about every time you choose to put a stop watch on her. And by the way 2.7 is world class in softball.

Another possibility, Dawson runs easy and Landry is a bit higher effort and really looks like she is doing more. Andrews is a bit more effortless as well. It's really hard to compare our 3 speed girls. Dawson is a true high end sprinter that has run faster than 7.5 in the 60 meters. This is upper level, big time speed. She had multiple D 1 offers in track as a sprinter. No one in the SEC (maybe country) is faster in a straight foot race with her or probably home to 3rd or home to home on the clock. But, Dawson wouldn't just "edge out Landry" in a 60 meter foot race. She would gap her by a pretty good distance.

Its gonna be fun to watch Andrews and Dawson in the next few years as they get even stronger and faster. Can't wait.
This post was edited on 5/18 at 1:15 pm


Bayou Bum
Member since Feb 2017
66 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
2.4 roflmfao



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
04
Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
The reason why Bailey seems to get down to first base faster than Dawson is because Bailey power slaps, and she crosses her legs (watch her warm up swing) before she swings. It serves two purposes..one it loads her body and gives her power that normal slappers wont have, and second, it points her toward first base. Notice the other slappers, after they have hit the ball, have to do a change of direction and turn towards first if they move straight toward the pitcher in their swing. Time is lost right there for the regular slapper.

Kelsey Stewart (Florida, graduated last year), did a demonstration of power slapping and named those two reasons I just gave as for why she power slaps...more power, and it points you toward first base rather than moving you toward the pitcher. I was just watching Dawson on YouTube in a high school game and she does have to redirect just a little, while Bailey is heading down the baseline with no turn of body necessary.

A second reason is, though both Landry and Dawson bat flat-handed, Bailey's swing is shorter than Dawson's. Bailey completes her swing faster after contact than Dawson does. Dawson swings through the ball a little more than Bailey does, as Dawson's bat is flatter longer through the zone than Bailey's. Bailey flattens the bat just before contact and immediately pulls up after hitting, while Dawson flattens the bat sooner, makes contact, and then is a little slower completing her swing.

Whoever trained Dawson knows what they are doing. That's a .440 hitter right there. She will be more like a Rod Carew/Willie McGee type hitter, and they both are flat handers. The top hand releases the bat as the swing goes somewhere around mid-point, and the palm of the top hand is facing straight up toward the sky, or close to it.


Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I am just throwing this in because this has been discussed just about each time there is a game. Ashlynn often brings this up.

Let's say you have two players... a senior and a freshman. The senior started three years straight, and is aiming for her fourth year as a starter. Up pops the freshman who is surprisingly talented, maybe just as good as the senior, though less experienced.

There are, of course, two possibilities.. One, the coach decides to start the senior. Her reasoning is that the senior is more experienced and deserves to start her final year at the school. The senior is also the “spiritual leader” of the team. The freshman has three more years to play, and will start all three of those years.

The other alternative is to go with the younger player, benching the senior/spiritual leader in favor of the younger player. It gives the younger player a chance to have three years of experience for when she enters her senior year. It also serves to keep the freshman from leaving.

Which would you do, and why?

Personally, I'd go with the senior, for several reasons. One, a coach does not want the reputation of bumping off a three year starter in favor of a newcomer. Imagine what that would do for recruiting...prospective players would have to wonder, and always be looking over their shoulder for someone to come and take their position from them.

There is a chance it could hurt team morale if the girl they are expected to look to as leader has lost her position to a Freshman.

So, what I think I would do is go with the senior at least for a good while unless she falls below what she is capable of, plays disastrous defense, etc.

A good example is Madi Gibson at Auburn. She is a pretty good outfielder but this year she struggled at the plate and failed to come through in clutch situations. The Rivera girl, a Freshman, is a much better player, in every facet of the game, but Gibson was given a chance to prove herself worthy of being a starter. Her batting average is somewhere around .240. The Rivera girl is pushing .400 and is a clutch hitter. She is fast, has a strong arm, and possibly the best outfielder, defensively, in the country.

After giving Gibson a chance, Myers yanked her and put Rivera in. I thought the way he handled it was best.

As the season draws to a close, we have to play our best players, and I hope that Quinn remains on the field, and that Dawson is in the lineup somewhere. Regardless, if Sanchez is benched, or if Quinn had faltered badly and was benched in favor of Dawson, complaining about it would be senseless.

Beth has given all these players a chance to shine. If Waljasper doesnt get to DP, and Dawson is chosen instead, how could anyone disagree? Look at the numbers.

What Beth has done is give everyone a chance. Now we have to hope that whatever decision she makes actually works. I am a supporter of the head coach. I hope she stays here for her career. I wouldn't want to be her right now, though.


SanFranTiger
LSU Fan
San Francisco, CA
Member since Sep 2003
4233 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I just dont think we need another slapper in the lineup.

was Dawson a slapper in high school or did she hit away?


LSUGrad9295
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2007
18787 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Good info! I appreciate the time and effort you put into that description...it all makes sense and I'll have something to look for this weekend. I'm sure at some point Dawson will be called upon to start a rally.

So to those who helped me learn something new


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Bhs83
Member since Mar 2016
484 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Dawson is a lot like Landry, she can put the ball out. Go on YouTube and you can see a couple of videos of her playing for Parkview. She is a slapper/power slapper. I havent seen her in swing away mode yet.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
8154 posts
 Online 

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
I will stay out of the fire

Dawson WILL be a major asset for this program.


People don't realize the stuff that happens behind the scenes that can have major influences on who plays. I am not saying that is the case with Dawson but players who don't follow rules under Beth are disciplined really strictly. Its why you rarely see any of our players have any issues with rule breaking. Pretty sure thats why Provost was booted off. Beth is actually one of the STRICTEST coaches out there. Even minor stuff will be treated in a harsh way. I know a player that played under Beth at FIU and players were always scared of being on Beth's bad side or not following her rules.

There are a lot of highly rated players, more highly regarded than Dawson who come into major schools who don't even sniff the field at all year one.

It might seem like she plays favorites but I promise there is a lot more that she takes into account than a players talent and abilities. She is a woman of high moral standards and she expects players to follow that.

Aside being a damn good coach, its by far one of my favorite quality I like about Beth. Beth has a bright future for Dawson. No she might not be starting right now, sure she is extremely talented but it will all work itself out. I am extremely positive we will see Dawson on multiple occasions this post season.

Lets kick arse tomorrow. This team has a lot ahead and haven't even hit their ceiling yet.


paintthecorner
Member since May 2014
214 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
"You very well could be right about issues behind the scenes. Maybe, maybe not. It's impossible to know, only Beth and the staff and players know if something's up."

And parents


"People don't realize the stuff that happens behind the scenes that can have major influences on who plays. I am not saying that is the case with Dawson but players who don't follow rules under Beth are disciplined really strictly."

Certain players, yes

"It might seem like she plays favorites but I promise there is a lot more that she takes into account than a players talent and abilities."

Every single coach plays favorites at one time or another. Probably more regularly than fans realize. I'm certain Coach Torina has as well. She has bench full of talent, but none of them can hit .220 -.250? I was born at night, but not last night sir.

Coach Torina is a great pitching coach, that's not up for debate. Now, if you look at how many times the girls are thrown out at 3B and home plate. How long it took to move Jaquish to 2nd (which actually leadoff would have probably been even more effective) and some people might feel she is not quite the elite HC that she is perceived to be. Wins erase issues. She has made 3 WCWS trips in 5 years on the backs of 4 AA pitchers. That says a ton about her pitchers and her pitching coach skills


manonwheels28
Member since May 2015
36 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Who do you think will pitch in Game 1, Game 2, etc? Walljasper in G1, Hoover in G2 or the other way around?


SanFranTiger
LSU Fan
San Francisco, CA
Member since Sep 2003
4233 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
She can probably use Smith in game 1--Fairfield is not very good and Smith can handle that game.

Im not sure who she uses against UL-Lafayette, assuming they win.

Walljasper makes sense because she does not walk batters and does not give up homeruns. On the other hand, Cajuns play to contact so maybe Hoover makes sense?


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
8154 posts
 Online 

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Mcneese could upset ULL, this is an extremely dangerous regional. No one should take anyone, lightly

I think this regional could end up like no one is predicting, a lot of talented teams here.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
8154 posts
 Online 

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
quote:

Coach Torina is a great pitching coach, that's not up for debate. Now, if you look at how many times the girls are thrown out at 3B and home plate. How long it took to move Jaquish to 2nd (which actually leadoff would have probably been even more effective) and some people might feel she is not quite the elite HC that she is perceived to be. Wins erase issues. She has made 3 WCWS trips in 5 years on the backs of 4 AA pitchers. That says a ton about her pitchers and her pitching coach skills


The next step for this program is to elevate ourselves on offense.


doya2
LSU Fan
Charenton
Member since Jan 2005
5135 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
quote:

batters and does not give up homeruns. On the other hand, Cajuns play to contact so maybe Hoover makes sense?


Walljasper.


LSUGrad9295
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2007
18787 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
My feel is definitely Smith tonight. If it's ULL tomorrow, then I think Walljasper. If it's McNeese, I think she goes with Hoover.

Either way, I hope some of those ULL homers go die in that SE wind coming in at 15mph.

Funny thing is that when ULL has won over PAY at Tiger Park, it wasn't their hitting that beat us. It was the pitching. A couple of 1-0 games in there.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Mulerider
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2013
1506 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
quote:

Fairfield is not very good and Smith can handle that game.


What?? Smith is good enough to beat anyone. She is a top tier starter and worthy of a start against all comers.


Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
8154 posts
 Online 

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Corbello with a good start.

happy to see her do well. Was an amazing representative for LSU and she still attends a lot of our games


tigerclaw10
LSU Fan
My house
Member since Jun 2010
1820 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Keep me updated on the Mcneese ULL game if y'all can.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Tigerbait357
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2011
8154 posts
 Online 

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Mcneese was robbed a hr

Damn
This post was edited on 5/19 at 3:24 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
CajunsTigersSaints
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Jan 2015
3233 posts

re: Softball Regional preview, analysis, etc
Someone call the cops.

There has been a robbery.


first pageprev pagePage 3 of 6next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram