LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview

Hopefully, Adam4848 will be doing his annual LSU baseball preview in about a month, but before he does, I thought I'd do a little preview of his preview just to throw some basic information out on the Rant.


RECENT SEASON RECORDS

LSU is now entering Year 7 in the Paul Demie Mainieri Era.

2007, 29-26-1 (12-17-1) -- no playoffs
2008, 49-19-1 (18-11-1) -- SEC-T champs; eliminated by UNC in CWS
2009, 56-17 (20-10) -- SEC title [Ole Miss = co-champs]; SEC-T champs; NCAA title
2010, 41-22 (14-16) -- SEC-T champs; eliminated by UCI at UCLA regional
2011, 36-20 (13-17) -- no playoffs
2012, 47-18 (19-11) -- SEC title; eliminated by SUNY-Stony Brook in home super regional

Compare to the Raymond Peter "Smoke" Laval Era...

2002, 44-22 (19-10), eliminated at Rice super regional
2003, 45-22-1 (20-9-1), SEC title; eliminated by SCAR in CWS
2004, 46-19 (18-12), eliminated by SCAR in CWS
2005, 40-22 (18-12), eliminated by Rice in home regional
2006, 35-24 (13-17), no NCAA playoffs



2013 SCHEDULE & RECENT CHAMPIONS

2013 Schedule

The first 17 games of the 2013 schedule are awful. The most exciting of the bunch will be the sole road game at ULL on Tuesday, February 26. With the new 14-team conference, LSU will play its first ever SEC series against Texas A&M and Missouri (both on the road), but will still only play 10 conference series. LSU will not play series against Georgia, Tennessee, or Vanderbilt, this year.

Recent Champs

(Year, SEC Champs, NCAA Champs)
2002, South Carolina, Texas (over SCAR)
2003, LSU, Rice (over Stanford)
2004, Arkansas, CSF (over Texas)
2005, Florida, Texas (over Florida)
2006, Kentucky/Alabama, Oregon St. (over UNC)
2007, Vanderbilt, Oregon St. (over UNC)
2008, Georgia, Fresno St. (over UGA)
2009, LSU/Ole Miss, LSU (over Texas)
2010, Florida, SCAR (over UCLA)
2011, VU/SCAR/UF, SCAR (over Florida)
2012, LSU, Arizona (over SCAR)



ROSTER BREAKDOWN

Here's the roster for 2013...

By Experience

#58, Chris Cotton, LHP, Sr., 3L, Byrd HS
#8, Mason Katz, INF/OF, Sr., 3L, Jesuit HS
#13, Alex Edward, OF, Sr., 3L, Parkview Baptist HS

#4, Raph Rhymes, OF, Sr., 2L, Neville HS (LSU-Eunice JC)
#33, Kevin Berry, RHP, Sr., 2L, Brother Martin HS (UNO)
#25, Joey Bourgeois, RHP, Sr., 2L, Lutcher HS (LSU-Eunice JC)

#21, Joe Broussard, RHP, Jr., 2L, Holy Cross HS
#37, Ryan Eades, RHP, Jr., 2L, Northshore HS
#38, Nick Rumbelow, RHP, Jr., 2L, Bullard, Texas
#39, Kurt McCune, RHP, Jr., 2L, Destrehan HS
#26, Ty Ross, C, Jr., 2L, Naples, Florida
#23, JaCoby Jones, OF/INF, Jr., 2L, Richton, Miss.

#49, Brent Bonvillain, LHP, Sr., 1L, Thibodaux HS (Delgado CC)
#28, Casey Yocom, INF, Sr., 1L, Reno, Nevada (Feather River CC)

#24, Cody Glenn, LHP, So., 1L, Houston, Texas
#17, Jared Foster, INF, So., 1L, Barbe HS
#5, Chris Sciambra, OF, So., 1L, Catholic-BR HS
#10, Aaron Nola, RHP, So., 1L, Catholic-BR HS
#2, Tyler Moore, C/INF, So., 1L, Dunham HS

#29, Nate Fury, RHP, Jr., TR, Rummel HS (Tulane & Delgado CC)

#36, Will LaMarche, RHP, Jr., JC, Pleasanton, Ca. (Chabot College)
#7, Sean McMullen, OF, Jr., JC, Brother Martin HS (Delgado CC)
#14, Christian Ibarra, INF, Jr., JC, La Puente, Ca. (Rio Hondo College)

#30, Alex Bregman, INF, Fr., HS, Albuquerque, N.M.
#11, Michael Barash, C, Fr., HS, Boca Raton, Florida
#40, Taylor Butler, RHP, Fr., HS, Barbe HS
#45, Russell Reynolds, RHP, Fr., HS, Parkview Baptist HS
#6, Andrew Stevenson, OF, Fr., HS, St. Thomas More HS
#9, Mark Laird, OF, Fr., HS, Ouachita Christian HS
#55, Hunter Newman, RHP, Fr., HS, Bloomingdale, Ga.
#27, Mitchell Sewald, RHP, Fr., HS, Rummel HS
#12, Hunter Devall, LHP, Fr., HS, Centreville Academy HS
#20, Chris Chinea, C, Fr., HS, Miami, Florida


By Position

#33, Kevin Berry, RHP, Sr., 2L, Brother Martin HS (UNO)
#25, Joey Bourgeois, RHP, Sr., 2L, Lutcher HS (LSU-Eunice JC)
#21, Joe Broussard, RHP, Jr., 2L, Holy Cross HS
#37, Ryan Eades, RHP, Jr., 2L, Northshore HS
#38, Nick Rumbelow, RHP, Jr., 2L, Bullard, Texas
#39, Kurt McCune, RHP, Jr., 2L, Destrehan HS
#10, Aaron Nola, RHP, So., 1L, Catholic-BR HS
#29, Nate Fury, RHP, Jr., TR, Rummel HS (Tulane & Delgado CC)
#36, Will LaMarche, RHP, Jr., JC, Pleasanton, Ca. (Chabot College)
#40, Taylor Butler, RHP, Fr., HS, Barbe HS
#45, Russell Reynolds, RHP, Fr., HS, Parkview Baptist HS
#55, Hunter Newman, RHP, Fr., HS, Bloomingdale, Ga.
#27, Mitchell Sewald, RHP, Fr., HS, Rummel HS

#58, Chris Cotton, LHP, Sr., 3L, Byrd HS
#49, Brent Bonvillain, LHP, Sr., 1L, Thibodaux HS (Delgado CC)
#24, Cody Glenn, LHP, So., 1L, Houston, Texas
#12, Hunter Devall, LHP, Fr., HS, Centreville Academy HS

#26, Ty Ross, C, Jr., 2L, Naples, Florida
#11, Michael Barash, C, Fr., HS, Boca Raton, Florida
#20, Chris Chinea, C, Fr., HS, Miami, Florida

#2, Tyler Moore, C/INF, So., 1L, Dunham HS
#8, Mason Katz, INF/OF, Sr., 3L, Jesuit HS
#23, JaCoby Jones, OF/INF, Jr., 2L, Richton, Miss.

#28, Casey Yocom, INF, Sr., 1L, Reno, Nevada (Feather River CC)
#17, Jared Foster, INF, So., 1L, Barbe HS
#14, Christian Ibarra, INF, Jr., JC, La Puente, Ca. (Rio Hondo College)
#30, Alex Bregman, INF, Fr., HS, Albuquerque, N.M.

#13, Alex Edward, OF, Sr., 3L, Parkview Baptist HS
#4, Raph Rhymes, OF, Sr., 2L, Neville HS (LSU-Eunice JC)
#5, Chris Sciambra, OF, So., 1L, Catholic-BR HS
#7, Sean McMullen, OF, Jr., JC, Brother Martin HS (Delgado CC)
#6, Andrew Stevenson, OF, Fr., HS, St. Thomas More HS
#9, Mark Laird, OF, Fr., HS, Ouachita Christian HS



KEY THREADS FROM LAST YEAR

1/19/12 (StatMaster): " Is it that hard to find a power hitter these days?"
2/1/12 (Adam4848): " Official Adam4848 Baseball Preview Feb 11th (Season Predictions/SEC) *Page 10*"
5/21/12 (Doc Fenton): " Final SEC-only Stats for LSU's regular season"
6/11/12 (Adam4848): " A quick look ahead to the 2013 Baseball Roster"
This post was edited on 1/16 at 2:35 pm



DeltaDoc
LSU Fan
The Delta
Member since Jan 2008
9900 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
No pitching and no power.


CP3LSU25
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2009
36830 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
I can't believe we lose 3 games this year.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bubbz
Baylor Fan
Team Boxtard
Member since Mar 2006
18864 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Doc, I do believe Maryland is supposed to be a decent team and is in PG's preseason top 25.

Good write-up! I believe Adam said Feb 1st is start date for write-ups.

This post was edited on 1/1 at 4:12 pm


Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
I may have made mistakes. It's January and all my baseball brain cells have atrophied since the summer. It's not uncommon for various ACC teams to be overrated in the preseason, but having said that, I don't know much of anything about Maryland, so I'll reserve judgment until I become better informed.



bubbz
Baylor Fan
Team Boxtard
Member since Mar 2006
18864 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Same - I think we all wish LSU would go on the road or bring someone big in each season. I'm just trying to make it look like we aren't playing nobodies, which is pretty much what we have played in non conference the last 2 seasons.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
thunderbird1100
LSU Fan
GSU Eagles fan
Member since Oct 2007
39679 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
quote:

#12, Hunter Devall, RHP, Fr., HS, Centreville Academy HS



Is a LHP FWIW


Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Corrected.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
These would be our top returning hitters from last year, just going off regular season SEC-only batting averages (75 AB minimum to have a conference rank):

#1. Rhymes, 107 AB, .458
[NOTE: #2 was Alex Yarbrough (Ole Miss), 126 AB, .357]
#28. Katz, 117 AB, .299
#39. Ross, 87 AB, .287
#41. Jones, 117 AB, .282
--------------------------
Edward, 37 AB, .297
Sciambra, 19 AB, .263
Moore, 71 AB, .254
Foster, 38 AB, .184
Yocom, 16 AB, .125

No longer on the roster are...

#68. Nola, 109 AB, .239
#70. Hanover, 106 AB, .236
--------------------------
Snikeris, 42 AB, .333
Fields, 75 AB, .253
Dozar, 57 AB, .228
Slaid, 9 AB, .222
Powell, 1 AB, .000
Didier, 7 AB, .000


Adam4848's probable lineup from last June...

1B - Moore
2B - Bregman
SS - Jones
3B - Powell
LF - McMullen
CF - Sciambra
RF - Katz
C - Ross
DH - Rhymes

Powell is no longer listed on the roster, so the remaining infielders listed are Yocom, Foster, & Ibarra. Not sure who will play 3B though.

Also, in addition to the JuCo transfer McMullen in the OF, LSU will also have 2 new OF straight from HS, Laird & Stevenson.

Run production was a problem area for the team last season, as LSU finished in the bottom half of the conference in that category despite winning an SEC title. Although LSU finished 4th in the SEC in batting average, a lot of that was due to Raph's singles, as the rest of the team hit only .259 in regular season conference games, below the overall SEC average of .266.


Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Recall that the pitching from last year was quite good, although not quite as good as UF or MSU.

The relief exceeded expectations, with the combined ERA for Rumbelow, Broussard, Cotton, & Goody being 1.54 in 46.7 IP for SEC games. They only gave up 8 ER.

The projected weekend starters for this spring will be Nola, Eades, and someone else, possibly McCune or Broussard.

A promising newcomer is Mitchell Sewald out of Rummel HS. Other newcomers to the staff will be Will LaMarche, Russell Reynolds, Hunter Newman, & Hunter Devall.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Adam4848
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Apr 2006
8206 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Great work Doc!

Wanna take the keys?

Edit: Yes, preview will be out Feb 1st.
This post was edited on 1/2 at 5:16 pm


Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
No thanks! I know nothing of potential or talent beside what I see when college games begin.

I just like getting things organized in one place.



Adam4848
LSU Fan
LA
Member since Apr 2006
8206 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
quote:

I just like getting things organized in one place.


You and me both.

It was fun looking at my potential lineup from the end of last season. My how things change from year to year but we'll get a better feel in spring practice in the coming weeks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Doc Fenton
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
51087 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Updating to include...

#11, Michael Barash, C, Fr., HS, Boca Raton, Florida


I was kind of hoping he would be listed as C/3B, but it's cool.



TigerFan2211
LSU Fan
Texas
Member since Jan 2012
880 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
What are the realistic expectations of this team and are there any incoming Freshman that will make a big impact for this team ?


TXGunslinger10
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Jun 2011
13518 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Fire Javi


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bubbz
Baylor Fan
Team Boxtard
Member since Mar 2006
18864 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
I think a repeat of last season is at least expected. Not necessarily winning the SEC, but I think a national seed is a good expectation to have.

Several incoming freshman will make a difference. One in particular to be on the lookout for is Alex Bregman. He will more than likely be the starting SS.


upgrade
LSU Fan
Pina Coladaburg
Member since Jul 2011
2557 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
How good are our new SEC oponents this year?
TA&M and Mizz.


bubbz
Baylor Fan
Team Boxtard
Member since Mar 2006
18864 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
I'll be surprised if Mizzou wins more than 9 games in conference play. Texas A&M usually has a solid squad. I know they lost some pitching this year, but they will probably be a decent team. They should be better than Bama and Auburn.


slutiger5
Southeastern LA Fan
Parroquias de Florida
Member since May 2007
8301 posts

re: LSU Baseball: A Preview of Adam4848's February Preview
Who is the exciting youth outside the SS?


Page 1 of 3

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram