Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
aVatiger
LSU Fan
Springville, Va/Portland, Me
Member since Jan 2006
23082 posts

Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing

*(when it works).. :/

no worries, awesome review

Gizmodo X-Bone Review


quote:

As did the PS4, this thing is going to blow your gat-dang hair back. All the games we tried (Forza 5, Dead Rising 3, Crimson Dragon, and a few titles we're not allowed to talk about yet) looked beautiful, without exception. You can get graphics like this out of a powerhouse PC, sure. But in the console world the Xbox One—and the PS4—is like whoa. Then again, after eight years, you'd expect it to be.

Some titles embrace the future better than others. It's an unfortunate fact that Dead Rising 3, one of the cornerstones of the Xbox One's launch line-up, runs in 720p (upscaled to 1080), locked at 30fps. That's not bad, but it's not the kind of HOLY FREAKIN WOW you necessarily expect out of your new $500 box. That said, there's still plenty of HOLY FREAKIN WOW to Dead Rising 3; it boasts massive crowds of zombies on screen at a time, while only occasionally (but still occasionally) stopping to chug if you're really cruising through the scenery in a car or armored tank or whatever. That's a different kind of impressive. And it's worth noting that Killzone: Shadow Fall did its fair share of chugging too on the PS4, albeit in native 1080p.



Image: http://cdn04.cdn.socialitelife.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/11/tumblr_mc3hg5VpQP1qcy0p7o1_500.gif




hg
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2009
77584 posts
Online

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
29998 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
I just posted a ton of reviews in the Xbone thread.

quote:

(when it works)


This seems to be sort of the consensus. The negatives are all easily fixable things that you can expect with any launch console. The big thing is that all of them can tell the ambition is there.

You have to trust MS to make these adjustments because of what they did with the 360 during its life span.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Dooshay
LSU Fan
CEBA
Member since Jun 2011
29448 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


hg
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2009
77584 posts
Online

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
my fingertips are ready


Dooshay
LSU Fan
CEBA
Member since Jun 2011
29448 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
grippy texture is sexy
i totes push it from the side


SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
52331 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

But—and this is admittedly a sizable but—if the Xbox One can straighten the few little quirks it has with some software tweaks, this thing is going to be unstoppable in a way the PS4 could never touch. It's too versatile, too feature-ridden, too future.


Macphisto
LSU Fan
Washington, DC
Member since Jul 2005
5800 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing


RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
29998 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
PS4 has the same "Not Yet" gif from Kotaku as well


RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
29998 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

my fingertips are ready



The rumble triggers are apparently awesome as well


Macphisto
LSU Fan
Washington, DC
Member since Jul 2005
5800 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

PS4 has the same "Not Yet" gif from Kotaku as well

True, but the argument can be made that it's limitations at this moment are more important given its ambitiousness.


CornDogCologne
LSU Fan
all aboard the hate train
Member since Nov 2007
7791 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

rumble triggers


I'm hoping these are utilized in BF4.


ThaKaptin
Alabama Fan
The Sultan of Swag
Member since Nov 2010
20260 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

this thing is going to be unstoppable in a way the PS4 could never touch. It's too versatile, too feature-ridden, too future.


This is going to be the tipping point. If Sony decides to be bullheaded and refuse to update the PS4 to compete with the home theater centerpiece that is the xbone, they will suffer greatly.


RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
29998 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

True, but the argument can be made that it's limitations at this moment are more important given its ambitiousness.



Then the counter argument would be that it has a better launch lineup of games.

If you read what the limitations are, they aren't anything that is frustratingly bad that make you think you made the wrong decision. Some of which are things that will probably be fixed with the day 1 patch.

MS has a track record of improving things over time extremely well. The 360 I have now is only comparable to the launch 360 by name and that it plays games.
This post was edited on 11/20 at 12:28 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
29998 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

I'm hoping these are utilized in BF4.


quote:

The new controller is something of a revelation in terms of rumble. Four motors inside the device provide more subtle, immersive physical feedback, from the low hum of your engine as you hit the pavement in Forza 5 to the heavy blasts of rumble as your jury-rigged, post-apocalyptic skull-crusher connects with a zombie cranium in Dead Rising 3. The thumb sticks are more concave and have textured rims, making them easier to grip in even the most dire of virtual circumstances.





wish i was tebow
Arizona Fan
The Golf Board
Member since Feb 2009
43265 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

The biggest advantage here is being able to make a special menu of just the channels that matter to you, with some streaming app options (your Netflix queue, for instance) thrown in for good measure. This is fantastic. I don't have to explain to you how great it is to never have to scroll past Nick Jr. ever again, do I?



My favorite part of review.



posted the same thing in the other thread but didnt know where to put it




Replies (0)
Replies (0)
BuckeyeFan87
Ohio State Fan
Columbus
Member since Dec 2007
22552 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

If Sony decides to be bullheaded and refuse to update the PS4 to compete with the home theater centerpiece that is the xbone, they will suffer greatly

This may be a dumb question, but at this point, can they?

I've read a lot of the PS4 running hot already(which I would assume will become an issue over time). Do they have enough space in their console to take it to the next level like MS?

Everyone laughed at the size of tONE, but I just assumed that meant it wouldn't overheat.


Mear
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2010
3833 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
But I was told that people who bought a PS4 only cared about games...


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
52331 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

This may be a dumb question, but at this point, can they?


No they can not, simply by making the decision to not include the eye.

quote:

I've read a lot of the PS4 running hot already(which I would assume will become an issue over time)


Not a surprise. The more you shrink down the machine, the more cooling becomes an issue.
This post was edited on 11/20 at 8:35 am


BuckeyeFan87
Ohio State Fan
Columbus
Member since Dec 2007
22552 posts

re: Gizmodo X-Bone Review: Absolutely Amazing
quote:

Not a surprise. The more you shrink down the machine, the more cooling becomes an issue.

I don't remember, but wasn't that the cause of the RROD? Or was overhearing a separate issue for t360?


Page 1 of 2

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram