Sylvain - pics and review | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5261 posts

Sylvain - pics and review

First, Gaston, thanks for the recommendation and thanks for telling us about the front door! We were able to look like we knew what we were doing upon entering. I know we would have looked like morons, otherwise. While we were eating, two guys did enter through those doors. A server quickly went and locked them after.

As to the food. OMG. Truly delicious. We loved our starters as well as our entrees. No dessert, we were quite satisfied to end the meal without.

It was a much more intimate atmosphere than our previous night's dinner at Borgne. It was so dark that my husband had to use the table candle to see some of the menu. We were there very early in the evening and the place didn't start filling up until we were almost ready to leave. Good thing Gaston wasn't there, because I did take pics of the food. Don't worry, I didn't tell them that you sent us. My son's friend, Charlie, used to work there. I told them that she sent us.

Pic quality isn't great. Had to take quick shots so as not to be too obvious.



Chicken Liver Crostini
Maras Farm’s sprouts, dandelion gastrique

So good. Slightly rich, but not so rich that I didn't eat it all. Yum.




Crushed Field Peas on Toast
lemon, mint, Pecorino Toscano, chili oil

My husband's starter. He loved it! I had a bite and thought it was delicious, too. Seriously, crushed field peas? Good stuff.




Pan-fried Pork Shoulder
coosa valley grits, mushrooms, mustard jus

My main. The pork shoulder was tender with a crispy outside. Flavorful and rich. The grits and pork made a perfect bite. The mustard greens tasted lightly pickled. They were not like slow cooked southern greens (which I loved), but a fresher interpretation. Loved it all.



Slow-Cooked Pork Sandwich
pickled collards, roasted garlic and chili oil

There was a red slaw that came with another dish, and my husband asked if they would give him the slaw instead of the pickled collards, which they did. He loved it.

Great restaurant. Small, intimate, not a huge menu, but enough that would make me want to go back and try some of the other things. A most excellent choice. A+

We weren't very adventurous with our drinks. My husband had a Sylvain Sazerac and then a margarita on the rocks. I had one margarita on the rocks.
This post was edited on 1/30 at 10:03 pm



heypaul
Penn Fan
The O-T Lounge
Member since May 2008
29934 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
That looks great!!

Good review, thanks

Oh .. And what's with the door?


Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5261 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Image: http://www.starchefs.com/gallery3/albums/album-1873/cache/NOLA_Sylvian_wb_2012_3056.jpg_693_471_0_80_1_50_50.jpg


You go through a little alley to the right of what would appear to be the front door. The hostess is around the back. The back of the bicycle tire is in front of the alley.


heypaul
Penn Fan
The O-T Lounge
Member since May 2008
29934 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Is there a secret knock also?






Gris Gris
LSU Fan
OTIS!NO RULES FOR SAUCES ON STEAK!!
Member since Feb 2008
29465 posts
Online

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Nice!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Kim Jong Ir
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2008
30896 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Nice review. Thanks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bossflossjr
LSU Fan
The Great State of Louisiana
Member since Sep 2005
9655 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
quote:

Pan-fried Pork Shoulder coosa valley grits, mushrooms, mustard jus


That looks incredible. Jeesh. Gotta cravin for it now!


kage
Auburn Fan
ATL
Member since Feb 2010
3769 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
I ate there about 2 years ago and really enjoyed it. I can't remember what I had though. I'm sure the menu has changed a little since then. They made a hell of a Sazerac, though.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5261 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
quote:

Gotta cravin for it now!


Actually, I could go for it all over again, too. I've got an envie.


ruzil
Southeastern LA Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2012
6546 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Nice review Darla, I love that place. It looks so ordinary but the food is so exquisite.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5261 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
quote:

Is there a secret knock also?


heypaul, I did the under-the-chin-finger-wave like a good Little Rascal. They let us right in!

ruzil, don't know if I'd have gone in had I not heard about it from others.

And thanks to all who commented. :-)


PBeard
Penn Fan
Look on the Brightside
Member since Oct 2007
5601 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Bump,

anything new on the menu? What to get? What's the right cocktail to get with a big tasting menu?


Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
Westside
Member since Nov 2003
73902 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
haven't been in a few months but my buddy went the other night and got the beef cheeks and said they were stellar as usual. not really a place that switches up their main offerings, but the salad/soup/fish are always in rotation. duck liver crostini is a great app there.

as far as cocktails go I think they make the best gin gimlet in the city.


Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5261 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Just an aside, I tried doing something with those pictures, but the quality is just bad. Sorry.


PBeard
Penn Fan
Look on the Brightside
Member since Oct 2007
5601 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
the porchetta sandwich reminds me of John's Roast Pork in Philly

Image: http://www.roadfood.com/photos/13935.jpg


Darla Hood
LA-Lafayette Fan
Near that place by that other place
Member since Aug 2012
5261 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Doesn't that look yummy. What kind of greens?


PBeard
Penn Fan
Look on the Brightside
Member since Oct 2007
5601 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Broccoli rabe


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Oenophile Brah
LSU Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
6589 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
Great review.

That pan fried pork shoulder looks delish. I need to get back over there.


plawmac
Member since Dec 2007
3210 posts

re: Sylvain - pics and review
WEnt about a week ago - can't improve on what Darla said. Its damn good and not that expensive for the quality.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 1 of 1

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram