Rules question in tonight's CWS game | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
ianfson1
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2009
339 posts

Rules question in tonight's CWS game


In the Miss St/UCLA game on now, why was the UCLA runner who collided with the Miss St first baseman not out due to interference? He was clearly outside the running lane and in fair territory. Can someone clarify?






Back to top
Share:
TH03
Notre Dame Fan
In Darth's Head
Member since Dec 2008
92886 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


I didn't see it. define outside the running lane.





Back to top
Kcrad
LSU Fan
Slidell
Member since Nov 2010
14423 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


I sure can't, I thought he was out.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
ianfson1
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2009
339 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


quote:

I didn't see it. define outside the running lane.


The running lane is the three foot wide lane outlined by the parallel line starting half way down the 1st base line and the foul line itself. It's in foul territory. The runner was clearly on the fair side of the base line, well outside the running lane







Back to top
Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
21596 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


quote:

The runner was clearly on the fair side of the base line, well outside the running

How far inside? If he's just inside the line than he is still in his lane






Back to top
  Replies (0)
BayouFann
New Orleans Saints Fan
North Dallas
Member since Jun 2012
3492 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


dude tore that green up on his way to 1st! i thought sure he would get called out.





Back to top
Dr. Shultz
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, La
Member since Jun 2013
3156 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


The first baseman (who is 6'6 270lbs) leaned over into the out of bounds to try and catch the ball. I'm sure the umpire thought of this when the baserunner was out of the box





Back to top
pankReb
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Mar 2009
36395 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


Wes Rea's leg was clearly over and stretched to the other side of the base. The runner ran through the bag.





Back to top
Dr. Shultz
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, La
Member since Jun 2013
3156 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


Yeah but he had reached over to try and get the errant throw and then when he realized he couldn't he leaned back to take the blow. I'm surprised it didn't frick up his knee.

I'm just saying the ump probably took that into consideration and it was a bam bam play.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUBASEBALL06
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jul 2005
3407 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


Runner has access to the entire bag, he ran straight thru the bag and was in the right. Wes Rea interfered with him and caused the collision. Ashame since the ball rolled way into foul territory, the runner couldnt advance to 2nd because of being on the ground semi injured.





Back to top
ianfson1
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Aug 2009
339 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


quote:

Runner has access to the entire bag, he ran straight thru the bag and was in the right. Wes Rea interfered with him and caused the collision. Ashame since the ball rolled way into foul territory, the runner couldnt advance to 2nd because of being on the ground semi injured.


He does have access to the bag, but my point is he never attempted to stay in the running lane and by doing so, interfered with the throw by the catcher.
The throw carried the the first baseman's arm into the runners path, I agree, but its my understanding if he's running on the fair side of the base line and interference occurs, the runners out. That's why the running lane is clearly marker by a chalk line starting half way down the 1st base line.






Back to top
WilsonPickett
LSU Fan
St Amant, LA
Member since Oct 2009
507 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


If he's out of the running lane, drill him in the back then it's interference.

If the play happened at the bag, the runner has a right to the bag no matter how far in or out of the throwing lane he was running down the line.






Back to top
LSUBASEBALL06
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jul 2005
3407 posts

re: Rules question in tonight's CWS game


The runner should have run through Wes Rea more than he did, Rea was clearly blocking the bag, even though it was not intentional It is not interference unless the runner is hit by the ball, then determine where he was when he was hit. When the ball crossed where the contact was, it was on the base, not in the running lane. He was past the part of the running lane when contact was made, so where he ran down the line is irrelevant.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top