Woods gets 2 shot penalty | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
doya2
LSU Fan
Franklin
Member since Jan 2005
1330 posts

Woods gets 2 shot penalty



Not DQed


This post was edited on 4/13 at 8:35 am



Back to top
Share:
KingwoodLsuFan
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2008
7526 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


I didn't think they could still do that after he signed his scorecard





Back to top
LanierSpots
Auburn Fan
Senior Sidewalk Fan
Member since Sep 2010
21557 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Based on what? did they make up a new rule/penalty





Back to top
danfraz
LSU Fan
San Antonio TX
Member since Apr 2008
17314 posts
 Online 

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Total sham


I'm getting old but man the bull shite that sports organizations pull is like seeing Oz behind the curtain

I don't care to watch anymore, sad






Back to top
  Replies (0)
DollaChoppa
Miami (FL) Fan
ACC #1 Football Conference
Member since May 2008
75210 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Ridiculous.

If this is based off that interview its preposterous. If you watch the video, he clearly drops the ball about a foot behind his previous spot to avoid the divot.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
jacks40
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11553 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


I'm fine with this if it becomes the rule for others in the future.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TT9
Alabama Fan
Global Warming
Member since Sep 2008
51229 posts
 Online 

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Me either.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
18662 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


They said that in 2012 the amended the rules for signing a bad card that in certain cases if a player unknowingly broke a rule they can asses a two-stroke penalty without disqualification.





Back to top
Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
22847 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


According to the radio, since he believed he played by the rules, and it was an unknown penalty, he didn't sign an incorrect scorecard? Strange





Back to top
udtiger
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Nov 2006
26844 posts
 Online 

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Should have been dq'd.

Anyone not named Tiger gets bounced.






Back to top
danfraz
LSU Fan
San Antonio TX
Member since Apr 2008
17314 posts
 Online 

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Spin.


Rule has never been heard about until tiger needs it


Foul. Very very foul






Back to top
bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
18662 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


He did sign an incorrect card, but again, they changed the rule last year to give latitude to a player who unknowingly does so.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
bayoubengal03
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
937 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


Something to do with the USGA's ruling on events broadcast in HD TV





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
22847 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


quote:

They said that in 2012 the amended the rules for signing a bad card that in certain cases if a player unknowingly broke a rule they can asses a two-stroke penalty without disqualification.

What they're saying on the radio, as long as he hasn't played yet, it's a two stroke penalty






Back to top
  Replies (0)
VegasPro
UNLV Fan
Vegas
Member since Aug 2011
2706 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


20-7c disagrees with ruling





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Zamoro10
Member since Jul 2008
14743 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


TV rules sports - we all know this. Tiger is Tiger.

(former USGA Commish - "based on the way the rules are written, I don't see how he is nothing but a spectator this weekend.")



This post was edited on 4/13 at 8:42 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
18662 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


quote:

Rule has never been heard about until tiger needs it


It's only been around a year, how many situations has it even been needed I wonder? And let's be honest, I can't begin to imagine some golf rules we've never heard of.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
jacks40
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11553 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


quote:

They said that in 2012 the amended the rules for signing a bad card that in certain cases if a player unknowingly broke a rule they can asses a two-stroke penalty without disqualification.


I like the idea of giving more latitude instead of just dqing them.

I just hope it is applied equally to other golfers in the future.






Back to top
Woopigsooie20
Oklahoma Fan
Me Scusi
Member since Mar 2010
47711 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


They done screwed up. A 59 coming today.





Back to top
RPC4LSU
LSU Fan
Thibodaux, LA
Member since Jan 2006
1547 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty


An example of how strict the rules used to be:

1987 Andy Williams Open

After finishing the tournament at 270, Craig Stadler went to the scorer's tent feeling that he'd just finished in second place. Instead, he was informed that he was disqualified for a Rules infraction the previous day. On the 14th hole in the third round, Stadler's ball landed beneath a pine tree in a muddy lie. He needed to play the shot from a kneeling position and since he was wearing light-colored trousers he placed a towel on the wet ground and kneeled on it while making the shot. At the time nobody caught the mistake, but the next day while showing showing highlights of the prevouis day's play Rules zealots spotted the error and relayed it to PGA Tour officials. What Stadler had done was violate Rule 13-3, illegally building a stance, and since he didn't add two strokes to his third-round score, he was disqualified for turning in an incorrect scorecard. The disqualification cost Stadler $37,333, which would have been his share of second place.






Back to top


Back to top