Woods gets 2 shot penalty | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
doya2
LSU Fan
Franklin
Member since Jan 2005
1872 posts

Woods gets 2 shot penalty

Not DQed
This post was edited on 4/13 at 8:35 am



KingwoodLsuFan
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2008
7625 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
I didn't think they could still do that after he signed his scorecard


LanierSpots
Auburn Fan
Senior Sidewalk Fan
Member since Sep 2010
23940 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Based on what? did they make up a new rule/penalty


danfraz
LSU Fan
San Antonio TX
Member since Apr 2008
17825 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Total sham


I'm getting old but man the bull shite that sports organizations pull is like seeing Oz behind the curtain

I don't care to watch anymore, sad


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
DollaChoppa
North Carolina St. Fan
Geaux TigerPack
Member since May 2008
76398 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Ridiculous.

If this is based off that interview its preposterous. If you watch the video, he clearly drops the ball about a foot behind his previous spot to avoid the divot.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
jacks40
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11602 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
I'm fine with this if it becomes the rule for others in the future.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TT9
Alabama Fan
Higher Taxes
Member since Sep 2008
54661 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Me either.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
18715 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
They said that in 2012 the amended the rules for signing a bad card that in certain cases if a player unknowingly broke a rule they can asses a two-stroke penalty without disqualification.


Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
23778 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
According to the radio, since he believed he played by the rules, and it was an unknown penalty, he didn't sign an incorrect scorecard? Strange


udtiger
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Nov 2006
29711 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Should have been dq'd.

Anyone not named Tiger gets bounced.


danfraz
LSU Fan
San Antonio TX
Member since Apr 2008
17825 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Spin.


Rule has never been heard about until tiger needs it


Foul. Very very foul


bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
18715 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
He did sign an incorrect card, but again, they changed the rule last year to give latitude to a player who unknowingly does so.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bayoubengal03
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2006
937 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
Something to do with the USGA's ruling on events broadcast in HD TV


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Tiger1242
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2011
23778 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
quote:

They said that in 2012 the amended the rules for signing a bad card that in certain cases if a player unknowingly broke a rule they can asses a two-stroke penalty without disqualification.

What they're saying on the radio, as long as he hasn't played yet, it's a two stroke penalty


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
VegasPro
UNLV Fan
Vegas
Member since Aug 2011
2706 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
20-7c disagrees with ruling


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Zamoro10
Member since Jul 2008
14743 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
TV rules sports - we all know this. Tiger is Tiger.

(former USGA Commish - "based on the way the rules are written, I don't see how he is nothing but a spectator this weekend.")
This post was edited on 4/13 at 8:42 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
18715 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
quote:

Rule has never been heard about until tiger needs it


It's only been around a year, how many situations has it even been needed I wonder? And let's be honest, I can't begin to imagine some golf rules we've never heard of.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
jacks40
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11602 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
quote:

They said that in 2012 the amended the rules for signing a bad card that in certain cases if a player unknowingly broke a rule they can asses a two-stroke penalty without disqualification.


I like the idea of giving more latitude instead of just dqing them.

I just hope it is applied equally to other golfers in the future.


Woopigsooie20
Oklahoma Fan
Me Scusi
Member since Mar 2010
48694 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
They done screwed up. A 59 coming today.


RPC4LSU
LSU Fan
Thibodaux, LA
Member since Jan 2006
1557 posts

re: Woods gets 2 shot penalty
An example of how strict the rules used to be:

1987 Andy Williams Open

After finishing the tournament at 270, Craig Stadler went to the scorer's tent feeling that he'd just finished in second place. Instead, he was informed that he was disqualified for a Rules infraction the previous day. On the 14th hole in the third round, Stadler's ball landed beneath a pine tree in a muddy lie. He needed to play the shot from a kneeling position and since he was wearing light-colored trousers he placed a towel on the wet ground and kneeled on it while making the shot. At the time nobody caught the mistake, but the next day while showing showing highlights of the prevouis day's play Rules zealots spotted the error and relayed it to PGA Tour officials. What Stadler had done was violate Rule 13-3, illegally building a stance, and since he didn't add two strokes to his third-round score, he was disqualified for turning in an incorrect scorecard. The disqualification cost Stadler $37,333, which would have been his share of second place.


Page 1 of 6

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram