Can you punt out of a non punt formation? | Page 3 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSUMJ
LSU Fan
BR
Member since Sep 2004
15028 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


"By the way, Cunningham was a two-time All-American punter(with a career average of 45.6 yards per kick - still a UNLV record)

had a 91 yard punt playing for philly






Back to top
  Replies (0)
VernonPLSUfan
LSU Fan
Leesville, La.
Member since Sep 2007
8299 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


You can do that on any down





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Keltic Tiger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2006
4941 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


Somewhat related question. In the current Sports Illustrated, there is an article on a current NFL ref, drawing a blank on his name, but he said that there is no rule on pass interference when a team is punting, presumably the punter making the pass. But added that he has never seen it happen, either. Why wouldn't there be interference if a DB tackles a WR or RB out in the flat as the ball is in the air?





Back to top
TulaneUVA
Virginia Fan
Member since Jun 2005
20828 posts
 Online 

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

45 punts in the game.

Michigan won 9-6 with just 27 yards of total offense (all rushing) and zero first downs in the entire game.


Very interesting









Back to top
  Replies (0)
Zach
LSU Fan
Member since May 2005
65773 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

You are thinking about the NFL....in college everyone can go downfield at the snap.

Here's a variation. Suppose it's 4th and 20. The punter gets the snap and sees an opening to run for the first down. He crosses the LOS and then sees a tackler appear. He decides to punt. Is that legal?






Back to top
arrakis
Member since Nov 2008
20783 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

Here's a variation. Suppose it's 4th and 20. The punter gets the snap and sees an opening to run for the first down. He crosses the LOS and then sees a tackler appear. He decides to punt. Is that legal?


That makes it an Illegal Kick...which is one of the rare fouls that cause the ball to become dead immediately. The penalty is 5 yds from the previous spot and LOD.

Couple of add'l points:
1. His ENTIRE body must be beyond the LOS when he kicks the ball for it to be a foul
2. If, at any time, he carries the ball beyond the LOS, it's an illegal kick. IOW, he can't run a couple of yards beyond and then retreat behind the LOS and kick the ball.

The LOS is paramount on a kick play. If the kick is blocked or goes straight up and never crosses the LOS, the kicking team can pick it up and run, throw a pass, or even kick it again.



This post was edited on 10/9 at 11:17 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
Zamoro10
Member since Jul 2008
14741 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

In the current Sports Illustrated, there is an article on a current NFL ref, drawing a blank on his name, but he said that there is no rule on pass interference when a team is punting, presumably the punter making the pass. But added that he has never seen it happen, either. Why wouldn't there be interference if a DB tackles a WR or RB out in the flat as the ball is in the air?


When a team lines up in punt formation, it does not have to punt the ball. The punter can run with the ball or pass the ball from the punt formation. However, outside receivers are not given protection from pass interference on a pass from punt formation. For example, the outside gunner may sprint downfield and the punter can throw the ball to him. However, a defender can hit that player as he is sprinting downfield because the opponent is under the impression that he is a tackler who is trying to make a play against a punt return. The rationale behind the rule is that the defensive team does not have to afford the gunner room to run without being hit and may attempt to prevent him from getting downfield.

The rule reads:

“Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive pass interference is not to be called for action on the end man on the line of scrimmage.

Otherwise, any time you lobbed a pass to a gunner, it would be pass interference as they are always fighting with the coverage team.

That does not mean it can't be called against other players who are not designated gunners.



This post was edited on 10/9 at 11:22 am


Back to top
motorbreath
New Orleans Saints Fan
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Jun 2004
4810 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


I've been watching football for 25 years and I've never seen this happen. And I watch a lot of football.





Back to top
wildtigercat93
LSU Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Jul 2011
44860 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

I've been watching football for 25 years and I've never seen this happen. And I watch a lot of football.


Apparently not enough. This shite seems to happen 3-4 times a year

Did you see the Patriots Broncos playoff game last year?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
TulaneUVA
Virginia Fan
Member since Jun 2005
20828 posts
 Online 

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

When a team lines up in punt formation, it does not have to punt the ball. The punter can run with the ball or pass the ball from the punt formation. However, outside receivers are not given protection from pass interference on a pass from punt formation. For example, the outside gunner may sprint downfield and the punter can throw the ball to him. However, a defender can hit that player as he is sprinting downfield because the opponent is under the impression that he is a tackler who is trying to make a play against a punt return. The rationale behind the rule is that the defensive team does not have to afford the gunner room to run without being hit and may attempt to prevent him from getting downfield.

The rule reads:

“Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive pass interference is not to be called for action on the end man on the line of scrimmage.”

Otherwise, any time you lobbed a pass to a gunner, it would be pass interference as they are always fighting with the coverage team.

That does not mean it can't be called against other players who are not designated gunners.


This post was edited on 10/9 at 11:22 am


Learn something new everyday






Back to top
  Replies (0)
BayouBengals03
Michigan State Fan
lsu14always
Member since Nov 2007
61543 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


McCoy used to do it all the time.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Papa Tigah
LSU Fan
TIGER ISLAND, LA
Member since Sep 2007
11542 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


Yes, Danny White did it for the Cowboys all the time.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Newbomb Turk
Navy Fan
perfectanschlagen
Member since May 2008
9961 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


Not only can you, I remember the Scellphone Brothers punting on 3rd down a few times out of a shotgun formation.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tokenBoiler
Purdue Fan
Lafayette, Indiana
Member since Aug 2012
502 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


quote:

You can be real sly about it. On 3rd and extremely long, teams have done a surprise quick kick with the qb. Catch them completely off guard and save field position because no return. It's not unheard of.



You also can get an amazing roll out of it. I've got no stats, but it seems like it used to be more common than now.






Back to top
wildtigercat93
LSU Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Jul 2011
44860 posts

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?


Its not just done on 3rd down

Teams love to do this on 4th and short frommidfield or closer. They can send it a regualr play in order to ensure the defense doesnt sell out for it and then boot it away






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top