Some people need to read the rule, if a play is made by an infielder it can be ruled infield fly, regardless of where the catch actually happens. So lets look at the reasonable effort part: dude was camped under the ball until he hears what he believes is a call off from LF and ducks out if the way. The last part is the timely manner part, which I will concede it was a late late call, HOWEVER the ump must make sure it will be a reasonable effort play, hence the delay.
Right call IMO, does it suck for the braves? Yes, but its not why you lost, had 2nd and 3rd in three straight innings.
On that note: GB is the worse call
This post was edited on 10/5 at 7:54 pm